logo
Photography

Presentation

Born in 1962, Hervé Szydlowski lives and works in Paris. In the eighties, he took up photography, working with professional photographers in the fields of fashion, advertising and still lifes. He has been sculpting since 1994 and drawing since 1998.

Since 1999 he has run courses and workshops in life drawing (charcoal on Ingres paper), while working on nude photography.

His first book, Vêtu de nu, published in 2005, featured his black-and-white outdoor photographs of nude subjects, like a kind of manifesto for the truth of the body at all ages of life.

In 2008 he published a second book of photographs, S O I, after the three letters that titled his triptychs. This collection of photographs in black-and-white and colour was prefaced by Charlotte Waligora and distributed by Éditions Gang (France). To make these images, Hervé Szydlowski continued to favour medium-format 6×6 cameras and the gelatin-silver process.

In 2010 Éditions Coiffard (France) published a book of his charcoal drawings with a preface by Denizhan Özer, the curator of the exhibition “Where is my privacy?” for which Hervé Szydlowski was invited to exhibit his photographs at the CDA-projects gallery (2009) during the 11th Istanbul International Biennial.

In 2011 the Musée Muséum Départemental de Gap exhibited the series of photographic triptychs and a selection of drawings. A video by the artist was also shown. This event was accompanied by discussions and performances at the museum, which on the same occasion acquired several works by the artist, as did the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.

In 2012 a new book of photographs, MONTALIVET, is published in the Editions Michel Husson, in Belgium, with Hervé Le Goff’s foreword and interview by Charlotte Waligora.

In 2013, a collection of six boxes with editions numbered and signed the series MONTALIVET was edited.

logo

Présentation

Né en 1962, Hervé Szydlowski, artiste plasticien, vit et travaille à Paris. Dans les années quatre-vingt, il se lance dans la photographie, se formant auprès de photographes professionnels de la mode, de la publicité et de la nature morte. Il pratique la sculpture depuis 1994, et le dessin depuis 1998.

Depuis 1999, il anime des cours et des stages de dessin au fusain, sur papier Ingres, d’après modèle vivant, et, parallèlement, il réalise des photos de nu.

C’est dans son premier ouvrage Vêtu de nu, publié en 2005, que l’on découvre ses clichés en noir et blanc, réalisés en extérieur, véritable manifeste sur la vérité des corps, de tous les corps, à tous les âges de la vie.

En 2008, un second livre de photographies voit le jour : S O I, trois lettres de noblesse pour le titre de ces triptyques, qui mêlent le noir et blanc et la couleur. Ce livre est préfacé par Charlotte Waligora et diffusé par les éditions Gang (France). Hervé Szydlowski y reste fidèle aux appareils moyen format 6×6 et au film argentique.

En 2010, les éditions Coiffard (France) publient un livre sur ses dessins au fusain, préfacé par Denizhan Özer, Commissaire de l’exposition « Where is my privacy? ». L’année précédente, ce critique avait invité Hervé Szydlowski à exposer ses photographies à la galerie CDA-projects, à l’occasion de la 11e biennale internationale d’Istanbul.

En 2011, le Musée Muséum Départemental de Gap expose la série de triptyques photographiques ainsi que des dessins. Une vidéo de l’artiste est également projetée. De plus, l’exposition a été l’occasion de rencontres-performances au sein de l’établissement. Dans le même temps, ce musée et la BnF font l’acquisition de plusieurs œuvres d’Hervé Szydlowski.

En 2012un nouveau livre de photographies, MONTALIVET, est publié aux éditions Michel Husson, en Belgique, avec une préface d’Hervé Le Goff et un entretien par Charlotte Waligora.

En 2015, la carte 33 Montalivet sort dans la collection This is not a map, septième carte aux éditions Poetry wanted (France) créé par Rémi Noël, accompagné d’un texte d’Hervé Le Goff.